Honeywell Regelsysteme commissioned InterFace Computer of Germany to develop programs to interface various tools used in a complex building control system:

In the state-of-the-art buildings it is essential to monitor, manage and control temperature, air-conditioning, water and electricity supply in a integrated manner.

In the new Munich airport terminal 2 building all the above mentioned environment factors as well as ramps and luggage conveyor belts are controlled by a single system.

Honewell has developed a monitoring system (DXO-GOI) based on DataViews, a real time graphical user interface, which displays the present status of the various environment factors.

The installed subsystems come from various manufacturers, among others Philips. The subsystems provide the process visualization on their own. In order to show these pictures under DXO-GOI system some 600 pictures had to be translated to DataViews. The Philips-pictures were available in un- documented ASCII-Format. Translation meant to supply the same information (instruments, color-changes, information presented along a polygon) as well as attaching "datapoints" of the other system.

The solution was implemented as a three-step transformation: (1) reading of the source without modifying the information, (2) preprocessing, including marking objects in the topo- logical neighborhood, and searching for transformation-relevant patterns and (3) generating DataViews objects using the pre- processing information.

The scanning of the process images was done with Lex. Selected functions of the DV-tools library (DataViews library) were connected on the target-side. All relationships between source- and targetside were expressed as Prolog facts.

Prolog is advantageous as compared to other programming languages as the data-structures do not have to be declared somewhere else. Also advantegeous for the enhancement of the symbolic information because there is no overhead for the memory-management of dynamic structures. The conversion from source to target is described solely by fact-tables and rules.

Hardware:
UNIX Workstation
Software:
IF/Prolog, DataViews, Lex

In modernen Gebäuden ist es wichtig, Daten bzgl. Temperatur, Klimaanlage, Wasser und Elektizität zu beobachten, zu kontrollieren und zu beeinflussen.

Im neuen Münchener Flughafen werden alle die genannten Daten sowie Daten der Rampen und Gepäckbänder durch ein System kontrolliert.

InterFace Computer in München wurde von Honeywell Regelsysteme beauftragt, Schnittstellen-Programme für unterschiedliche Werkzeuge in dieses System zu integrieren.

Honewell entwickelte das Monitoring System(DXO-GOI) basierend auf DataViews, einer graphischen Benutzer-Schnittstelle, die den aktuellen Status verschiedenster Umweltfaktoren unter Echzeitbedingungen verwaltet. Die installierten Subsysteme kamen von unterschiedlichsten Herstellern, wie z.B. Philips. Die Visualisierung der einzelnen Prozesse wurde von den Subsystemen selbst übernommen. Um diese Bilder nun unter unter DXO-GOI sichtbar zu machen, mussten ca. 600 Bilder nach DataViews übersetzt werden. Die Philips-Bilder waren als ASCII Format verfügbar und sollten mit den gleichen Informationen wie z.B. Instrumente, Farbänderungen oder Informationen entlang eines Polygons weitergegeben werden, sowie mit zusätzlichen Informationen der anderen Systemen versehen werden.

Die Lösung wurde als Transformation in drei Schritten realisiert: (1) Einlesen der Daten ohne Modifizierung der Information, (2) preprocessing, einschliesslich der Markierung von Objekten in der topologischen Nachbarschaft und der Suche nach transformations-relevanten Mustern und (3) Generierung von DataViews Objekten unter Verwendung der vorverarbeiteten Information.

Das Scannen der Prozessbilder wurde mit Lex realisiert. Ausgewählte Funktionen der Bibliotheken der anderen DV-Tools (DataViews library) wurden auf der Zielseite miteinander verbunden. Alle Beziehungen zwischen Quell- und Zieldaten wurden als Prolog Fakten dargestellt.

Prolog war vorteilhafter als andere Programmiersprachen, da Datenstrukturen nicht extra deklariert werden müssen. Weiterhin war von Vorteil, dass Prolog keinen zusätzlichen Overhead für die Verwaltung des Speichers für dynamische Datenstrukturen benötigt. Die Konvertierung von Quelldaten zu Zieldaten wurde einfach in Tabellen von Fakten und Regeln realisiert.

Hardware: UNIX Workstation
Software: IF/Prolog, DataViews, Lex